Monday Blues? Really?

There is a crabby vibe in many of us the moment we realise that it will be soon a dawn to another Monday. Grumpy Monday, Monday Blues, Oh Gosh it’s Monday – gloom-mongering phrases as these rent the air on a Monday morning, typically when there is a routine that needs to be adhered to. In most households, there is a rush that storms in after the seemingly calm and unsurprisingly quick weekend. Of course, the story of rushing to where? varies in different residences. Some rush to get to work on time, while others rush to pack tiffin boxes. Some rush through their breakfast to hit the road, while others have just enough time to grab a coffee and bagel en route. Why this peculiar behaviour to Monday? Is it because the two-day leisure just passed off and that the prospect of yet another one seems far, far away? Or, is it because of the monotonous drill that forces us to come back into a routine lest we take the latter for a ride making survival difficult for ourselves for those five, long, glorious days? Regardless of this custom-suited reasoning, there will be someone in almost all these households who, in all probabilities, can’t overcome that sinking feeling – here comes another set of drill – by the time they hit the bed on Sunday night.

Personally, I have never had an issue with a Monday morning. After all, I was given the very equipments I required, to recharge myself with, namely Saturday and Sunday. Now, whether I spent them lazing around, running errands, drinking away to glory, or being a couch potato was completely my choice. I was given a break of forty-eight hours from everything that I connect with ‘being at work’ – including the time I wanted to snooze away. When the horizon breaks into the blue purple after a Sunday night, I feel okay enough to be back, after having the time to myself. No doubt, I wish the weekend bliss could continue. Alas, there is something called ‘five days of productivity’ that is defined by our ‘policies at workplace’. To re-stress, I do not complain on a Monday morning as I feel thoroughly in control of my routine, right from the time I want to wake up to the time I go to sleep. It’s a new week, and here is a chance to start something new. Last Friday took away the week’s anxieties and worries, and I have entered into a fresh stretch after forty-eight hours of much-supposed recharge. What’s bad about that? After all, I decided the crate of batteries I wanted to recharge myself with! Instead, I’d happily pass the baton of Grumpy Monday to Weary Wednesday.

Yes, I have a problem with Wednesdays. I could easily feel my lowest on a Wednesday morning, and why not? It falls right in the middle of the working week, and carries along with it a state of limbo. It is three days since the week began and there are still three more days (technically) to go. How much more lousy can it get? Added to it is the ironically uncanny workplace where most of the processing, catching-up, status checks, and to-do enhancements happen. Wednesday, hands down, is the busiest day of my workweek. It’s a Wednesday when my calendar is blocked to the brim. It’s a Wednesday that decides the fate of the workload for the next two days; all closure items are frozen on that day. It’s a Wednesday when my partner and I decide the to-do sheet for the weekend (and we can’t seem to wait for it). Wednesday is neither here, nor there. To quote DJ from Rang De Basanti “O yaara, ik pair past mein te duja pair future mein, tabhi to hum apne aaj pe moot rahen hain.” Translated: Bro, one leg in the past and the other leg in the future, that’s exactly why we’re peeing on our present. Bottom line – that’s exactly how Wednesday makes me feel.

Although, in the recent times a decent share of research refers to Wednesday as being the saddest day of the week, they also compliment this lack of reasoning with handy amp-up facts and feel-good factors. In fact, it is quite interesting to see a report infer that it is the writers that feel low on a Wednesday and high on a Saturday (as per the report, Saturday is the best day of the week – which I do not deny either), while the temperament of chronic Facebook users varies. They feel the Monday blues, and Friday makes them happiest. Naturally, these are sourced from round-the-clock buzz on social media and custom searches on these platforms that relate to keywords such as ‘happy’ or ‘sadness’.

Shakespeare may have written “O, how bitter a thing it is to look into happiness through another man’s eyes” but he apparently never met many psychologists, a good number of whom have been attempting to do exactly this for some time!  To each, their own.

So, what’s yours?

Your thoughts will lend me a smile :)

